The little things

I was working on a truffle story n I found my way to waku ghin, the famed outpost of Jap – Sydney chef Tetsuya wakuda.

We featured the risotto of fugu, shirako n white truffle.I asked him to describe the dish, all he could think of after a long time, was that it’s simple n tasty. But I had to ask him why it was tasty n how so.

He juz said, it was tasty. N he liked it becoz he liked it n there was to b no reason y?

Yes.

But as writers, we had to account how this dish was tastefully different from another. Even if it was nice, we had to task ourselves with saying , how differently nice?

I said to him, that we complicate life . He smiled liked a fatherly figure.

Seeing I had difficulty, he decided to make me a dish, he said, it would take juz a few minutes n off he left in a huff.

Then I was pecking off the dish like a bird.noting down details with every peck. He saw what I was doing, then patted on my shoulder n said, juz eat la!

He then made us a truffle ice cream that was lite but full of truffle flavor .with shavings of truffle on the top.

I was scooping small spoonfuls n he said, u have to eat with the truffle!

I said I will n he continued to look at me eat.

I said I m cherishing it bcoz I don’t eat it everyday . He smiled. Then, Seeing what meager mouthfuls I took, he said, scoop everything , let it fill ur mouth to get it’s full flavor! Food is meant to b eaten n enjoyed. Thats what food is for, it makes u happy like that!

I did what i was told n found a tint of caramel in it n hazel nuts which summed up the flavour of the ice cream to a climax.

I said that to him n he said:
Very often, Its the little things that you have to find to make it right.

Tetsuya Wakuda
Which is v philosophical.

I added that v often, these little things r hard to find.

“u have to do the search for them. U can’t juz say it’s hard or complain . U have to put in the effort. After all , it’s ur restaurant .”

It is from Tetsuya that I learnt to look at things in another way. 舍才有得。

One cherishes n gains happiness in being careful or meticulous, but one also can find new ground in boldness.

I shook his hand tightly n thanked him once again , his handshake was firm n enveloped mine. Then he said, I like your handshake.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.