Tsoknyi Rinpoche’s New Book Open Heart Open Mind

Born in 1966 in Nubri, Nepal, Tsoknyi Rinpoche is one of themost renowned teachers of Tibetan Buddhism trained outsideof Tibet. Deeply versed in both the practical and philosophicaldisciplines of Tibetan Buddhism, he is beloved by studentsaround the world for his accessible style, his generous and self-deprecating humor, and his deeply personal, compassionateinsight into human nature. The married father of two daugh-ters, Rinpoche nevertheless manages to balance family lifewith a demanding schedule of teaching around the world, andoverseeing two nunneries in Nepal, one of the largest nunner-ies in Tibet, and more than fifty practice centers and hermit-ages in the eastern region of Tibet. More information aboutTsoknyi Rinpoche, his teachings, and his activities can befound at http://www.tsoknyirinpoche.org.
I liked the sentence “balance family life with …..”
it brings me to my situation of balancing life with smthg close to my heart too
And i like his excerpt.

 MOVIES

Some twenty years ago, I was visiting my oldest brother, Chokyi NyimaRinpoche, at his monastery in Boudhanath, just outside of Kathmandu. We were sitting together having lunch, laughing and talking, when Inoticed a guy sitting at another table staring at me, which made me alittle ner vous. At one point, Chokyi Nyima Rinpoche left the table andthe guy who was staring at me approached. He introduced himself asthe director Bernardo Bertolucci, who was in the area making the movie Little Buddha.“We’re making a movie,” he said, “and there is one role that I think  you would be perfect for, because I like your smile. Can I come tomor-row with the camera and have you act in front of the camera?”I said, “Okay.”So the next day he arrived with the cameraman and a camera. Thecameraman started shooting and the director asked me to say some-thing and smile. But I found it hard to smile. I’d never smiled into theblack hole of a camera lens. I’d only smiled at people while chattingwith them.He asked me to try again, saying I had real potential. “But you haveto smile,” he said. We tried that a few times, but I didn’t really knowhow to connect whatever small sense of humor I have to a machine. It’salways arisen from my contact with people. But Bertolucci wasn’t will-ing to give up. He asked me to come to the set where they were

filming to see how movies are made. So I went there for four or five days, andas I watched the whole filming process I became very disillusioned. Itall seemed so artificial—all the time it took for makeup, to set up thelights, rehearse a scene over and over again, watching the actors laughor cry on cue, and then film the scene again and again from differentangles. Watching all this, I thought, “Wow, I thought movies were morereal than this.”A couple of days later I had to go to Bhutan, and when I came back I found that they had cast someone else in the role—which I didn’tmind so much. I was actually glad not to have to participate in whatseemed to me a rather artificial process.The downside of this experience was that I lost interest in watchingmovies for four or five years. Every time I watched a scene, I wouldthink, “Oh, they’ve filmed this scene twenty or thirty times.” I couldn’tenjoy watching a movie.Slowly, though, my attitude changed.“Why shouldn’t I like watching movies?” I asked myself. “Life itself is in many ways like a movie. There are lots of causes and conditionsthat contribute to appearances that create such compelling plots. Andthe effort that goes into making a movie is similar to the combinationsof causes and conditions that come together to create the stuff thatwe experience in daily life.” So now I can watch movies with the sameappreciation that I watch life. I can appreciate the beauty of the illu-sion unfolding. I can appreciate the effort. I can appreciate the story.But I can also maintain a little distance, so that I don’t become suckedin.I can also appreciate the fact that an actor or actress who is shot orstabbed in a movie isn’t really dead but is probably sleeping quite com-fortably in Los Angeles or working somewhere around the world onanother movie. I can still be moved by the story on the screen, but at  the same time know it’s a movie and that all sorts of things have con-tributed to making the movie. We can apply the same sort of understanding to daily life. We canwatch our experiences unfold, we can become emotionally and intel-lectually involved in them, but at the same time recognize that they’rea kind of movie.

2 thoughts on “Tsoknyi Rinpoche’s New Book Open Heart Open Mind

    • Thank u for reading, and liking.I was just cutting and pasting, so if one day i need these, it will b here for me. There’s so much wisdom in his words, u can find more of his stuff by googling n in youtube.

Leave a Reply

